Flannery O’Connor on Graham Greene

As between me and Greene there is a difference of fiction certainly and probably a difference of theological emphasis as well. If Greene created an old lady, she would be sour through and through and if you dropped her, she would break, but if you dropped my old lady, she’d bounce back at you, screaming “Jesus loves me!”

-from p. 400 of The Habit of Being

3 comments so far

  1. imani on

    Thanks for posting this quote. I recently finished my first Greene novel, A Burnt-Out Case, and have yet to read the one by Flannery O’Conner (Wise Blood) on my book shelf. I don’t know if I quite agree with her but I’ll see how her fiction compares when I finally try it.

  2. Ryan on

    Imani,

    I suggest you read O’Conner’s short stories rather than her novels.

  3. jeffreimer on

    Imani,

    I agree with Ryan. Thanks for your comment!


Leave a Reply

