The Joys of Parenthood

Last night at about 2:00 a.m. I awoke in a groggy stupor to hear Jess saying, “here, let me get your nose,” while leaning over me and wiping my nose with a kleenex. I was still half-asleep and didn’t quite comprehend the situation I found myself in. By the time I was fully awake, Jess was already sheepishly walking to the bathroom. When she came back I said, “were you just wiping my nose?” She laughed out loud and then told me that she had been dreaming she was taking care of Charlie. In her sleep she had grabbed a kleenex out of the box and had begun wiping my nose with it. Then she woke up mid-wipe, realized what she was doing, quickly put the kleenex back on the bedside stand, and got up to go to the bathroom. Meanwhile I had been unwittingly playing the part of my own son in her little somnambulant drama. I guess parenthood is something that eventually oozes into your subconscious and becomes an integrated part of your psyche whether you intend it to or not!

8 comments so far

  1. Katie on

    That is the funniest story I have heard in a long time. Thanks for the laugh.

  2. timothycairns on

    I think that might just win the blog post of the year (and we are only in February!). Very funny!! Although I don’t mind if Jen wants to wipe my nose – saves me the trouble

  3. derekryanbrown on

    That is up there with the landing in wet cement story.

  4. MarilynR on

    Funny story!

    We have a friend who dreamed he was fighting off ten men and the “ten men” turned out to be his poor wife in bed. I’ll bet he sheepishly walked to the bathroom too.:)

  5. jeffreimer on

    Did that friend happen to be the pastor of worship and community life at Grace Community Church?

  6. Grace on

    One night early on in our parenting adventures, I woke up to Josh cradling a picture frame. I asked him what he was doing, and he said he was “trying to get stuff out of her.” He totally thought he was holding Naomi. I thought it was pretty funny. And then an hour later, I awoke to him cradling a pillow! Again, thinking he was holding Naomi. Josh got mad at me for laughing at him… I think I almost cried.

    Here’s to the joys of parenthood!

  7. MarilynR on

    In answer to your question, Jeff, no, it wasn’t our worship pastor, although I think something like that happened to them too. It was Norm S and his petite wife Beth.

  8. Crista on

    holy crap – you need to put a warning on stuff like that – I was just hysterical all by myself here…too, too funny guys!


Leave a Reply

