Readers Poll: Help Me Decide What to Read!

I’m taking a poll. The current book I’m reading, though good, is extremely dense and long, and my momentum has ground to a halt. I’ve been floundering around with short stories and essays for awhile now, so I’m going to read a novel to pick up some steam. But I can’t decide which one. So, dear reader, I enlist your help. I’ve narrowed it down to three that are already on my bookshelf, but I need some guidance from here. The books are:

Dosoevsky: Crime and Punishment

Dostoevsky: The Idiot

Cormac McCarthy: The Road

I will read all of these eventually, so it’s not an incredibly important decision, but my floundering has left me in a vortex of indecision. Help!

16 comments so far

  1. Ryan Cordell on

    The Idiot. It is one of my favorites.

  2. Robert H. on

    Crime and Punishment.

  3. ansley on

    Prayer of Jabez

  4. ansley on

    shoot – that wasn’t on the list…I have no comment

  5. Ryan Cordell on

    wait, if we can suggest other books, I say Chicken Soup for the American Idol Soul: Stories from the Idols and their Fans that Open Your Heart and Make Your Soul Sing. If not, I stick with the Idiot.

  6. timothycairns on

    i like the sound of that chicken soup book – is it in paperback yet?

  7. chad on

    I thought Tim was kidding. I’m still telling myself I did not actually see that book on Amazon. Someone help me – please tell me that it was merely a projection resulting from inner transcendental movement of the subconscious feeling of absolute dependence. Please tell me that somehow the categories I applied to the noumena resulted in faulty phenomena. I’ll take anything at this point to erase the memory…

  8. jeffreimer on

    Well, you people are not much help. It looks like I’m going to have to figure this one out on my own (Ryan’s and Robert’s recommendations notwithstanding).

  9. chad on

    Here’s an excerpt from Chicken American Idol Soup:

    “One night, after a breathless romantic interlude, my beloved looked at me with a smug smile. “How was that?” “Yo dawg,” I drawled, “you did your thing.” My husband’s smile wavered as he pondered my meaning. “Just keepin’ it real, dawg,” I told him. “Just keepin’ it real.” That will reach him to disrespect my cooking.” (pg. 79)

    These and other inspiring stories can be yours if you buy now!!!

  10. Ryan Cordell on

    Sorry if I got people off track. Come on people, help Jeff pick a book! My vote is still for the Idiot. I guess that makes the votes 3 to 1 right now.

  11. Robert H. on

    Crime & Punishment

  12. chad on

    Since someone asked off camera..no, I didn’t make up that part from American Chicken Soup – you can browse excerpts on Amazon. Sadly, that is straight from the book…

  13. Levi on

    Easy one… read The Road. Dostoevsky is fine and all, but if you are looking to pick up some steam again, go with McCarthy.

  14. Kristi on

    C&P.

  15. timothycairns on

    thanks chad for the quotes – I felt warm and comforted as I read them – just like chicken soup really, hold on I’m not American, but my heart was opened – nice


Leave a Reply

