Memed

Al Hsu, the general books editor here at IVP, tagged me in one of these blogging memes, so here goes.

Here are the rules:
1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

[Al and his predecessor left off number five, but I liked it, so I’m reinstating it.]

5. Present an image of martial discord from whatever period or situation you’d like.

1. Link to your tagger:

Done. Okay, number two.

2. Facts:

a. I read dinosaur comics. Sometimes raunchy and maybe not for everyone, but I love it. Thanks for alerting me to it, Greg.

b. When I wear the same clothes for a long time and don’t take a shower, I start to smell like sautéed onions.

c. I made the all-state soccer team in high school. Despite this, I was not as good as I thought I was.

d. In between Feb 1, 1998, and May 1, 2004, I went to over forty shows by the band Waterdeep.

e. Here is a picture of my favorite pen: the Pilot Precise V5 Extra Fine Rolling Ball (Blue).

f. I’ve been to forty-six states. I haven’t been to Alaska, Hawaii, Florida, or Louisiana.

g. I have never used an actual razor to shave. My dad bought me a Norelco in high school, and that sucker is still going. In fact, I don’t even really like to shave with it, so I rarely do. I just let my beard grow until it’s annoying to wash my face at night, and then I trim it down to stubble. Viva la pogonotrophy!

3. Tag 7 People:

a. Derek and/or Katie

b. Ryan and/or Katie

c. Ryan Cordell

d. Levi (anything to get him to update)

e. Amber

f. Kristi (are you there?)

g. Lee Ella

4. Let them know

You have all now been informed.

5. Present an image of martial discord:

Here’s a painting of the charge of the light brigade in the Crimean War (read about it here). And for good measure I’ve included Tennyson’s poetic account of it below the image.

The Charge of the Light Brigade

Half a league, half a league,
Half a league onward,
All in the valley of Death
Rode the six hundred.
“Forward, the Light Brigade!
Charge for the guns!” he said:
Into the valley of Death
Rode the six hundred.

“Forward, the Light Brigade!”
Was there a man dismayed?
Not tho’ the soldiers knew
Someone had blundered:
Theirs not to make reply,
Theirs not to reason why,
Theirs but to do and die:
Into the valley of Death
Rode the six hundred.

Cannon to right of them,
Cannon to left of them,
Cannon in front of them
Volleyed and thunder’d;
Storm’d at with shot and shell,
Boldly they rode and well,
Into the jaws of Death,
Into the mouth of Hell,
Rode the six hundred.

Flashed all their sabres bare,
Flashed as they turned in air,
Sab’ring the gunners there,
Charging an army, while
All the world wondered:
Plunging in the battery smoke,
Right through the line they broke;
Cossack and Russian
Reeled from the sabre-stroke
Shattered and sundered.
Then they rode back, but not–
Not the six hundred.

Cannon to right of them,
Cannon to left of them,
Cannon in front of them
Volleyed and thundered;
Stormed at with shot and shell,
While horse and hero fell,
They that had fought so well,
Came thro’ the jaws of Death,
Back from the mouth of Hell,
All that was left of them,
Left of the six hundred.

When can their glory fade?
Oh, the wild charge they made!
All the world wondered.
Honor the charge they made!
Honor the Light Brigade,
Noble Six Hundred!

—Alfred, Lord Tennyson

7 comments so far

  1. Helen on

    now, is it your favorite pen because it is readily available at the office, or did you enjoy it before?

  2. jeffreimer on

    Hi Helen!

    I started using the pen at the office and then fell deeply in love with it. My former love was the Bic Exac-Tip Roller. I like the fine point on this one better.

  3. RC on

    mmmmm…sauteed onions.

  4. Shannon on

    Ah Waterdeep…good times. :)
    -s

  5. Ryan Cordell on

    I too feel the same about shaving. Plus I love that you have given me a new word in reference to that task. I have finished my meme post. I wanted to make sure I did it before your sister posted hers. ha. (Sorry Kristi, but your fans are growing tired of waiting for a new post)

    And don’t worry about missing my first pass through Chicago. I’m hoping to visit for sure later in August or September. Perhaps we could take in a Cubs game.

  6. Greg on

    The whole concept of “memes” is, itself, a meme. Mmm… how deliciously recursive.

  7. Kristi on

    OK, you got me!


Leave a Reply

