Monday Morning Diversions

Anybody else notice the resemblance between the out-of-character Rainn Wilson (aka Dwight Schrute in The Office) and Ben Gibbard (aka frontman of Death Cab for Cutie)?

Observe:

Rainn Wilson, a surprisingly stylish person

Rainn Wilson, a surprisingly stylish person

Ben Gibbard, a not-very-surprisingly stylish person

Ben Gibbard, a not-very-surprisingly stylish person

Oddly, an image search for Ben Gibbard brought up this semi-related photo:

from left to right, John Krasinski (Jim Halpert in The Office) and Ben Gibbard (or is it Rainn Wilson?)

from left to right, John Krasinski (Jim Halpert in The Office) and Ben Gibbard (or is it Rainn Wilson?)

6 comments so far

  1. derekryanbrown on

    Their resemblance has actually crossed my mind before. My hunch is that their similarities owe something to their Pacific Northwest upbringing.

  2. Lucas on

    Yep, pretty weird. Check out the music director at this church: http://www.wfmc.net/staff.htm. I came across it a couple of years ago and whenever I need a quick pick me up, I visit the site and have a quick laugh.

  3. Josh on

    Lucas,

    Where did you find this guy?

  4. Lucas on

    Hey Josh,
    I found him when Shannon and I were thinking about moving to Wilmore, KY to go to Asbury. I was checking out local church websites and stumbled across Dwight’s twin brother! Needless to say, if we had wound up at Asbury, we would be going to this church.
    p.s. I find it quite funny to read this guy’s bio as if he is Dwight: a Dwight who has found religion, quit Dunder-Mifflin, and moved to the Bible belt. NBC, if you are reading (and I know you are), I want some credit when you start taping this spin off show!

  5. jeffreimer on

    That picture is very funny. Thank you, Lucas.

  6. Leah on

    Epic picture!


Leave a Reply

