How My Guitar Became My Fifth Appendage Last Week

Last weekend I bought new guitar strings for my guitar for the first time in over a year and a half. While I was restringing it I went over all the surfaces and crevices good and thorough-like with a dustcloth. Then I cleaned out all the grime from underneath the tuners and around each fret, and took a tiny screwdriver and tightened all the tuner screws. Now no more rattles come from the head, the tuners twist with just the right amount of resistance, and a rich, bright sound comes from the soundhole when I pluck the shiny strings. Voila! New guitar. Except for those shiny places where my arm and hand rest when I play. And the gashes and scratches from all the times I’ve dropped and mishandled it. Ah, but those are the marks of love!

3 comments so far

  1. derekryanbrown on

    Any new renditions of “Lord I lift your Name on High” as of late?

  2. chad on

    Come’on Derek. We all know that Jeff has now transitioned into his favorite guitar-playing time of the year: Christmas songs. I’m looking forward to a tremendous version of Santa Baby myself.

  3. jeffreimer on

    Unfortunately no new Johnny Cash renditions of popular praise songs. Though I’d be happy to produce a few if you or anybody else is willing to offer me money.


Leave a Reply

